Come Stay With Us Today!
Pierre le Moyne d’Iberville, was a French Canadian soldier and ship’s captain who lived from the mid-1600s to the first decade of the 1700s. If you were living on the Avalon Peninsula in 1696, d’Iberville was a name that would strike terror in the heart of every Englishman. For d’Iberville was the epitome of French brutality. He was brought in by the French to take Newfoundland for its own. He wasted no time when he hit the island, first making the 80-kilometre, nine-day boggy march from Placentia to Ferryland where he and his men began laying waste to basically every English village they came across. d’Iberville’s rampage was cut short in March 1697, luckily for the English, when he was called into service elsewhere. The English were able to re-establish their control over Newfoundland.
Today, people from all over the world are attracted to Newfoundland’s colorful history and culture and to walk this infamous bloody coastal trail. The d’Iberville trail, although a reminder of our brutal history, is now a natural sanctuary of scenic beauty and wildlife. This tranquil, meditative hiking trail provides stunning views of eagles, whales, icebergs, Newfoundland flora, and a plethora of seabirds. There are over 350 different species of seabirds recognized along the coastline here. Nature enthusiasts will delight in sightings of Gulls, American Eagles, Fulmars, Murre, Razorbills, Storm Petrels, Flacons, Boreal Owls, Gannets, Osprey, and our provincial bird, the beloved Atlantic Puffin.
The Cable houses were built in the late 1880’s to house the upper management of the Cable Station. These Beautiful Victorian homes with 12 foot ceilings and decorative moldings have been completely restored keeping them as original as possible inside and out. Modern amenities tastefully added for your comfort and furnished with antiques of the period.
In the beginning when Hearts Content was a hub of communications and activity there were many houses built for the staff, even an apartment complex on the main road, but most are gone now. The Cable house is the only remaining structure to maintain its originality. Built by English tradesmen they are a Southcott design and have won the Southcott architectural award. The Houses are also a designated National Historic Site.
The Cable Houses are situated on the highest hill in Hearts Content,Trinity Bay, with the surrounding view of Mizzen Pond (walking trail) and the Harbour where the SS Great Eastern brought in the first Cable in 1866. Centrally located on the famous Baccalieu Trail, visitors cab easily explore the rugged coastline walking trails, the famous d'Iberville hiking trail runs through the community. Towns and fishing villages, all with their own unique history are just a short drive way. The Capital city of St. John’s, is a 1 hour 20 minute drive from the Cable Houses. A privacy fence surrounds the landscaped property with it gardens, large decks, and Gazebo. Beautiful large beech trees and maples provide a natural canopy of shade to sit and relax under. Each house can sleep up to a Max. of 8 people. The houses are connected by an adjoining door which allows both houses to be connected for larger gatherings such as family reunions, or larger groups of friends traveling together.
To this day, the Cable House is one of the most elaborate and prestigious buildings in Heart’s Content. Picturesque in its beauty and rich in history, you can now relive a great moment in history, just as it was almost 130 years ago.
Built on the highest hill in Heart’s Content, Cable House 1 was once home to the British management staff of the transatlantic telegraph cable.
Imagine... President Abraham Lincoln has been assassinated but London's papers aren't reporting it
- it'll take 10 days for the news to reach Europe by ship...
In July 1866, after nine years and several unsuccessful attempts, the first permanent telegraph cable connecting Europe and North America was hauled ashore at Heart's Content. This little Newfoundland town leaped into the history books and remained a global communications hub for over a century. The cable station opened the world to the outport men and women who worked here and remains a time capsule of the communications technology that connected the world, right up to the 1960s.
Hearts Content Cable House
Copyright © Hearts Content Cable House All Rights Reserved
21 School Rd. Heart's Content, NL A0B-1Z0 Canada